Poreč is a popular summer resort on the coast of the Istrian Peninsula in western Croatia. In the historic old town, the 6th-century Euphrasian Basilica complex is famous for its gem-studded Byzantine mosaics. The coastline north and south of town draws visitors with camping areas, marinas and beaches with water sports. Some 6 km inland, the Baredine Cave is notable for its stalactite formations.
Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica, Poreč, Croatia
Believed to date back to the 4th century, this beautifully preserved complex of basilica, atrium, baptistery and episcopal palace are together the most outstanding example of their kind still standing today. The Euphrasian Basilica, in particular, is remarkable for its Mediterranean Byzantine architecture, typical of the area at that time.
In the 1st century it pride itself with the biggest Roman sanctuary in Istria. Mart’s temple or the Big temple was one of the biggest on the Adriatic. North of it there is the ruin of Neptune’s temple. The Marafor Square, Poreč’s oldest and biggest square, a Roman forum rectangularly shaped is near the temples.
Porec surrounded by walls will survive till the 18th century. The ones erected from the 12th to the 16th century mainly follow an antique fortification pattern. Towers preserved till today were built by some head people: the Pentagonal by Nicolo’ Lion in 1447, the Round Tower by Francesco Bondulmier in1473, and the Semi-circular by Pietro de Mula in 1475.
Alongside the Peškera bay, northeast of the heart of the old city. It was built in the 15 century. Today the edge is still partly preserved. Between the three towers, as well as around the peninsula, there used to be the City’s ramparts. Parts of it are still best visible from the board-walk along the northern side of the City. The City was detached from the mainland by a trench.
Located at the beginning of the central street, Decumanus, at the entrance of the heart of the old city. It was erected in the mid 15th century in Gothic style, with a relief of a Venetian lion on the facade. Up until the French occupation, parts of the city gates were preserved all the way up to the tower.